A book from every state in the Union.


comics_reading_by_joliet82-d4ng2ad

Cate’s Book Nut Hut has a list of 50 books, one from each state. The Sound and the Fury is the book listed for Mississippi. If I were making such a list, and were choosing a Faulkner novel to represent MS, I would go with  Absalom, Absalom!

Cate plans to review a book from each state during 2014. What a fabulous idea.

image: Joliet82/DeviantArt

About Gene'O

Compulsive writer, amateur photographer, and blogaholic. Also an evil genius.

4 thoughts on “A book from every state in the Union.

  1. Hm. I’m not sure I’d choose a Faulkner novel at all, though if I did I’d have to agree with The Sound and the Fury. And while I certainly understand the reasons behind choosing Faulkner to represent Mississippi, I’d probably choose Wright’s Black Boy or Welty’s The Ponder Heart.

    Like

    • Gene'O says:

      I would probably do something completely unexpected, like Donna Tartt, actually. I think Black Boy would be a fine choice, tho. Better than Faulkner.

      Like

  2. Cate says:

    Thank you for the ping back. I’m going to take a look at some of your suggestions and decide which one to read for Mississippi; I’m trying to stay away from the expected reads and find something, if not new, not well known.

    Like

    • Gene'O says:

      I like The Secret History, by Donna Tartt. It is not a perfect novel – it was her first, and she was young when she published it. It’s very much popular fiction, and it’s a bit dramatic. But it plays with gothic themes in ways that I find interesting, and it also explores relationships, guilt, and memory.

      Like

Talk to me

