Fear of Writing?


Boy with Hat asks a good question: “Are you afraid to write too, at least sometimes?”

My answer is no, but, I did go through a phase where I was. It took me years to get through that phase.

At some point I realized that the worst things that could happen were me producing something that is either completely incomprehensible or too offensive to show anyone, ever. Once I figured out that the delete key (or for the good stuff, the file that is only to be opened after I am dead) could alleviate those problems, the fear left me.

What keeps me from writing now is not having enough information or a clear enough plan (for nonfiction); and the feeling you get when you know you’re about to have to spend a whole lot of time for one all-too-brief moment of satisfaction (for fiction).

I do sometimes experience fear when I am handing something over to an audience, though. When that happens, I just act cool and wait to see how they respond.

I love posts like the one linked above. Writing is so intensely personal and private, I am always interested in how others develop coping mechanisms to overcome the many problems that go along with figuring out how to write well.

About Gene'O

Compulsive writer, amateur photographer, and blogaholic. Also an evil genius.

Talk to me

