Word Count or Time Count?


– This is an interesting question. I think setting aside the time is more important than a specific number of words, and I try not to look at the word count until I am done with a writing session. That said, I obsess about the number of words I am producing, too. My goal for the next year is to average 500 words of fiction per day. For me that means writing at least 800 per day, because I tend to overwrite everything, so the first thing I have to do in revision is cut about a third of the draft.

About Gene'O

Compulsive writer, amateur photographer, and blogaholic. Also an evil genius.

One thought on “Word Count or Time Count?

  1. Raven King says:

    I was the same way, I wanted to know how it was “supposed to be done.”

    Like

Talk to me

