The Perils of Writing Advice


– I agree that it is important to emphasize when you give writing advice that you are talking about what works for you. As I have stated here in the past, I believe that everyone has to find a process that works for them. There are writing principles that are widely applicable, but there is no such thing as a one-size fits all way of writing.

I am skipping the Zero to Hero assignment today, for the simple reason that I am happy with my background header images. I put a lot of thought into them when I set these blogs up. The Z2H post for today does have some useful stuff links, though.

Sunshine Somerville

[Taken from my Koobug blog]

My Favorite thing on Twitter might be #HorribleWriteTip, mostly because it balances out all the “real” advice authors throw around.  Some of the best: “It’s important that you mention in your query that you think you’re the next Stephen King” and “If a scene is difficult to describe, it’s ok to include a stick figure drawing.”

Now, I’m not a perfect writer.  I don’t think anyone is. Some advice is good, sound, noteworthy, and needed.  However, I think we too often spout off advice without taking into account that the same things don’t work for everybody.  And some of us are bad writers – if you aren’t good, please don’t tell me how to follow your method.  I try not to be an educated, elitist snob, but some advice runs counter to what I’ve been taught and just flat out seems like a…

View original post 407 more words

About Gene'O

Compulsive writer, amateur photographer, and blogaholic. Also an evil genius.

Talk to me

