Editorial | Organizers and Explorers: Two Schools of Writing


I was over at Therefore I Geek reading their grand announcement and found this. (They’re getting into podcasting; the announcement’s reblogged at Sourcerer). I am an organizer, for sure, but with fiction, I try to keep the organization loose enough to use exploration. That’s one of my problems with fiction. As a writer, I’m just not that good at using the techniques of an explorer. Which are you? And does this cover it, or do we need more categories than this? I find it useful, but I always have to ask that question when I see something as big as writing divided into two categories. Probably because I’m an organizer.

Therefore I Geek

There are two types of people in this world…  Ok, ok, there are many types of people in the world, but there are two schools of thought when it comes to writing.  Whether they write short stories, full length novels, academic research, or blog posts, most authors either are organizers or explorers.

Organizers believe in brainstorming before they begin writing.  They know the direction in which they want to take their readers before they jump into the meat of their prose.  I personally enjoy this method most—especially in more formal writing.  If I don’t have an endgame in mind, it is difficult to get my writing to move from the beginning to the end at a decent pace.  George R. R. Martin, Therefore I Geek’s man of the month as we gear up for the premier of Game of Thrones Season 4, describes these writers as architects.

“I think there…

View original post 489 more words

About Gene'O

Compulsive writer, amateur photographer, and blogaholic. Also an evil genius.

3 thoughts on “Editorial | Organizers and Explorers: Two Schools of Writing

  1. Thanks so much for the great post. I’m an organizer as well..and loved the post!

    Like

    • Gene'O says:

      Thanks very much! The author of that editorial is a fabulous blogger. I chat with Therefore I Geek a bit, they’re nice folks, and they’ve done very well with Facebook. I even nominated them for an award once. I’m hoping their podcasting goes well.

      Like

Talk to me

