Rebuilding a Culture of Readers


Thought-provoking article here. I’ve always been a voracious reader, and it’s something I learned as a child. I also never saw a computer until I was 11 or 12. Sometimes I wonder how different I’d be if I’d been born after personal computers became ubiquitous.

kateywrites

Many of you have heard about the study recently released by Common Sense Media that shows US kids and teens are reading less proficiently, less often, and less for pleasure than the same age groups did 30 years ago.   If you’d like to see more details (and you should), please check out the summary article here or the full report PDF file here.

OK, so are you totally shocked?

No, of course not.  You kinda suspected that kids were reading less, right? I mean, there’s streaming video and social media; smart phones and Nintendo DS to distract them. Kids and teens 30 years ago  didn’t have that.

30 years ago, I was seven. If I was lucky, I watched Electric Company with my brother and sister after school and Dallas when Grandma was babysitting. (Sorry to rat you out, Grandma.) Otherwise, I played outside, secretly destroyed Barbies with my brother’s G.I…

View original post 1,218 more words

About Gene'O

Compulsive writer, amateur photographer, and blogaholic. Also an evil genius.

One thought on “Rebuilding a Culture of Readers

  1. […] The Writing Catalog did a great reblog of this great post on passing on the culture of reading to the next generation. Both well written and researched, its really worth the read on Katey Writes. […]

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me

