Sunday Photoblog


Taken just after a rain on a cloudy day.

© Gene’O, 2014. Free to use with credit and a link.

© Gene’O, 2014. Free to use with credit and a link.

Note the texture and the fine details. The edges of the leaf, the clarity of those raindrops. That’s what even, overcast light gets you. If you’ve been following my photoblogging for a bit, you’ve seen shots taken in late evening light and ones taken a little after midday already. This is the first of a batch I took on cloudy days, and it’s the last example I need to explain the basics of natural light photography for people who’d like to improve their photos.

I’m not sure yet when I’ll do that, or on which blog, or how many posts it will take, but it’s on my to-do list. In the meantime, the Sunday Photoblogging is evolving. Starting next week, I’m doing Silent Sundays here for awhile, because the Wordless Wednesday is such a big hit. Silent Sundays are not something I thought up. I learned about them the same way I learned about Wordless Wednesdays – by paying attention to That Montreal Girl. If you like my photos, you’ll love hers.

Two brief updates on the blog:

  • I’m trying out a new poetry feature here for the next few weeks. It will run on Tuesdays If people like it, I’ll make it a regular part of my blogging. This afternoon, I’m running a couple of Tolkien posts here and at Sourcerer that I need to publish somewhere because I need the links for reference purposes.
  • I don’t think I’ve mentioned this here, but I now have a parent page on the sidebar named “Collected Works” and a subpage named “Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings.”  This page includes links to everything I’ve written about Tolkien so far. I created it so I’d have a link to use to catch people up when they discover that series for the first time. I’ll be adding several other pages over the summer, and most of them won’t be writing related. We do a lot of serial blogging and we like to have long-term projects going. I’ve decided to use this blog to archive all our series. I also plan to improve the resources page and use my April posts to start building a glossary of writing terms.

Have a marvelous week!

 

About Gene'O

Compulsive writer, amateur photographer, and blogaholic. Also an evil genius.

7 thoughts on “Sunday Photoblog

  1. That’s an incredible photograph!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on Taylor Grace and commented:
    An absolutely incredible picture. I know Gene’O is a very talented writer but check out the photography! Amazing. I loved this picture and he’s considering posting more photographs on a more permanent basis. I, for one, I’m thrilled about that. Can’t wait.

    Liked by 2 people

Talk to me

