A Bit of a Hiatus


Not a hiatus from blogging altogether, just from blogging here. My content has slipped here lately. That’s because I’m closing in on the busiest time of year for me professionally, and I’ve been spending a lot of time preparing for it. That, and I have so many blogging friends now, I just have to make an effort to keep up, and I have to consider guest blogging opportunities when they’re offered. So, here’s what I’m going to do:

  • Take a whole week off from blogging here.
  • Continue as much of my other blogging as I can. This means the Saturday coffee feature will run at Sourcerer this week. It’s time to see how it plays over there anyway.
  • Decide, when I see how this week goes, what to do next. That may mean another week off, twice-a-week blogging for a while, or any number of other options.

Given the unique character of this blog, I don’t see a week or two off doing any long term harm. I think  it would be worse to get to the point where I’m phoning stuff in just to say I posted every day. The audience here is small, but I get comments when I prompt people or manage to be interesting. It makes more sense to put up the Gone Fishin’ sign and take a breather than to allow the content to become uninteresting. So that’s what I’m doing.

GoneFishinThis may even have some positive creative benefits. I’ve been thinking for months that this blog needs an overhaul and a two-or-three post per week schedule. Perhaps this will help me figure out what I want to do with it. Sometimes when you’re stuck thinking about a project, it helps to put it away for a bit and look at it later with fresh eyes.

Happy weekend, all, and thanks for reading!

About Gene'O

Compulsive writer, amateur photographer, and blogaholic. Also an evil genius.

6 thoughts on “A Bit of a Hiatus

  1. trentpmcd says:

    Have a good break, even if it is just in one facet of your work and creative life.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Self-care is so important. Take good care, Gene’O and come back when you can. We’ll wait for you and celebrate your return!

    Like

  3. eclecticalli says:

    Everyone needs a little “summer vacation” even if it’s just from one small piece of things!

    Like

  4. meeinal says:

    Do enjoy your break:) do a lil crazy things with friends,that’s the trick which really helps:)

    Like

  5. Have a good break!

    Like

Talk to me

