Thanks!


Fridays are typically off-days here, because I spend most of my free time on Fridays networking on Twitter and participating in the Feminist Friday discussions at Part Time Monster. Today, though, I want to say a quick thanks to everyone who commented on my blogging ideas Wednesday night at Sourcerer and my post here yesterday about re-branding.THANK YOU Tag Cloud (card thanks greetings gratitude welcome)

As of this writing, 14 people had commented on the Wednesday post, and ten of those comments came in the first hour it was up. Seven people commented on my post here yesterday. I appreciate all that feedback. The most discouraging parts of blogging to me are the times when you feel like you’re speaking into a vacuum. Every blogger must feel it at some point, especially just starting out. I hardly ever feel that way any more, and I love that when I ask specific questions about creative things, I nearly always get multiple answers.

Happy Friday! We’ll have the usual weekend blogging tomorrow and Sunday, and more good stuff next week.

image via Hypothyroidmom

About Gene'O

Compulsive writer, amateur photographer, and blogaholic. Also an evil genius.

7 thoughts on “Thanks!

  1. NotAPunkRocker says:

    You are welcome! I love this space as it is, but I know the feeling of wanting to grow and change as things become more clear. Looking forward to seeing what you come up with!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sourcerer says:

      It’s mostly getting the catalog out of the name and a theme that’s got better menus. The content’s pretty much set, at least for a while. I love the layout of this theme, but I need pull-down menus at the top, and a wider front page since this blog is mostly a place to share text.

      Like

      • NotAPunkRocker says:

        I really love some of the newer themes, like Hemingway and Suits. I am weird about my backgrounds on posts vs the main page and the color setup, which is why I don’t use them myself.

        Like

        • Gene'O says:

          I’m pretty picky about my backgrounds, too. Must be white but not too bright if it’s mostly for text. If I only blogged videos and photos, I’d use a black one.

          Also, If I have a sidebar, it must be on the left. Right sidebars mess with me because they cross my field of vision at the end of every line, but when they’re on the right, they’re just a margin. I tune them out.

          Thinking about trying one that allows footer widgets here.

          Like

          • NotAPunkRocker says:

            I really liked splendio when I had it, lots of footer room, and I think the side menus give you a left or right option.

            I have to have a white or very light text background, but all white on my blog drives me crazy. I have to have color!

            Like

            • Gene'O says:

              Yes agreed. One of the reasons I like this theme. White text field, black sidebar, awesome way of displaying the background image.

              Like

  2. Blogging is a great community. I love it. When finding new blogs, reading and engaging for me are a slow process and it doesn’t always work. I’m not sure why. But I understand that feeling that you could be talking into a vacuum. I think we keep doing it because we do love it. And we do have our communities. Have a great weekend. I love seeing your blog in my feed by the way 🙂

    Like

Talk to me